skip to main content
Committed to Excellence

Recognizing New Beginnings

Tenured_retired.jpg thumbnail71628

Seven Islip School District retirees and five newly tenured teachers were recognized for their commitment to Islip during the June 10 Board of Education meeting.

“The Board of Education, the central office staff and the community are delighted to recognize those members of the Islip family whose career paths are being distinguished by new beginnings,” said Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services Dr. Linda Lippman, who served as master of ceremonies. “As educators, each of us is charged with making a difference.”

The district congratulates the following tenured staff members:
Joseph Ackermann, middle school math teacher
Cristina DiGeromino, middle school special education teacher
Elizabeth Nolan, high school English teacher
Rahana Schmalacker, high school English teacher
Lisa Ward, high school assistant principal

The district extends its best wishes for a happy and healthy retirement to:
Dr. Eileen Rossman, high school principal
John Quackenbush, high school science chairperson
Debra Hayden-Barrett, Commack Road Elementary School social worker
Robin Bauer, Maud S. Sherwood Elementary School senior stenographer
Marie Manzari, middle school math teacher
Joan Ramsey, high school special education teacher
Judith Roth, high school family and consumer science teacher

Also honored at the June Board meeting were retiring Board member Myrill Solaski, Director of Pupil Personnel Services and Special Education Barbara Nelson and Islip High School student and Eagle Scout Joseph Salerno.