skip to main content
Committed to Excellence

Islip Honors 2021 Hall of Fame Inductees

group photo on the football field thumbnail206384
driving a car in the parade with school colors thumbnail206506

Buccaneer pride and tradition prevailed on homecoming weekend as the district inducted individuals into the Islip High School Hall of Fame during a dinner and reception, held in the school gymnasium on Oct. 22. The Hall of Fame honors distinguished members of the high school community who have made notable contributions to society through their profession, community or institution.

During the ceremony, Assistant Principal Curtis Juengerkes announced with pride honorees Kay Poro Erwood (Class of 1954), Robert Anthony Jones (Class of 1991), Anthony Mastrantonio (Class of 1989), Ryan Patrovich (Class of 2006), Pat Petersen (Class of 1978), Melody Thomas (Class of 1969) and the 2004 Islip High School softball team.

“Each of you have made sacrifices and great contributions,” Principal Jon LaRochester said during his opening remarks. “You will serve as role models for generations to come.”

After each of the inductees were honored, they participated in an unveiling of the Hall of Fame wall, which holds the plaques near the main entrance to the high school.