skip to main content
Committed to Excellence

Four from Islip HS Chosen for Girls State Leadership Program

Four from Islip HS chosen for Girls State leadership program thumbnail182202
High school students Samantha O’Connell, Joyce Johnson, Sarah Alvarez and Genna Schifter were chosen for the 2021 Empire Girls State leadership program. Alvarez, Johnson and O’Connell were selected to attend the program as citizens; Schifter was named an alternate. The students were honored by the Islip American Legion Auxiliary Rusy-Bohm Post 411 in March at a ceremony at the school attended by Empire Girls State Selection Committee members Renee Clock, Paulette DeCrescenzo, Elizabeth DeSimone (a 2020 Empire Girls State citizen from Islip High School), Evelyn Gerlett, Joanne Johnson and Joan Smith.