skip to main content
Committed to Excellence

Legislative Committee

About the Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee is commissioned by the Board of Education and is comprised of Board trustees, district and building administrators, teachers, parents, community members, and other District stakeholders. The committee meets throughout the school year to discuss the educational advocacy objectives of the school district and develop action plans for their initiatives. The committee meets with state and federal officials to discuss key public education laws and regulations. In addition, the committee writes letters, develops position statements, reviews advocacy briefs, and serves as the legislative liaisons for the Board and school district. The volunteer members attend the Longwood Legislative Breakfast, New York State School Boards Association's Capital Conference, the SCSSA Advocacy Workshop, and a number of other conventions, workshops, and meetings. 


Legislative Committee Members

Board of Education Community Members
District Administrators
Staff Members
 Paul Austin Jennifer Autera  Ellen Semel Renee Clock 
Matthew Clareen Fred Henning Christopher Smalley Marie LaBella
Danielle Flora  Kristen Piazzolla James Cameron  
   John Reagan Timothy Martin  
Advocacy Efforts


Listing of all Government Officials Representing the Islip School District