Sharp Shooter Success for Commack Road and Sherwood

Sherwood SS
Commack Road SS

Fourth- and fifth-graders from Commack Road and Sherwood recently found hoops happiness competing in the 33rd annual Town of Islip Sharp Shooter Basketball Contest, held on March 2 at East Islip High School.

Sponsored by the Islip Department of Parks, Recreation and Cultural Affairs and Islip Elks since 1993, the Sharp Shooter “Just Say No to Drugs” program asks local students to score as many baskets as possible in one minute, improving their athletic skills and offering an alternative to drug abuse.

Commack Road’s in-school winners were Hailey Alvarez, Abigail Dieumegard, Amanda Owen, Carmine Rossellini and Andrew Wimmers, while Sherwood’s were Jackson Doring, Julia Dromerhauser, Tierny Recenello and Jane Tierney. Alvarez came away the first-place fourth-grade girls winner in the competition. Owen finished in second for fifth-grade girls, and Doring won second in the fourth-grade boys division.