Islip Recognizes Second Set of Distinguished Hall of Famers

Islip Recognizes Second Set of Distinguished Hall of Famers

Continuing to honor distinguished members of the school community while instilling pride, the Islip High School Hall of Fame inducted its second set of distinguished members at a Sept. 22 brunch prior to the homecoming parade. The presentation recognized the late Stephen Mark Abrams, C. David Ruvola, Thomas Zummo and the 2007-2008 high school football team, all permanently honored on Islip’s Hall of Fame Wall. The initial five honorees - Fred Biangardi, Dr. Jeffrey A. Goldstein, Michael Patrovich, John Veryzer and Tom Veryzer – were inducted last Dec. 7.

Abrams, a 1957 Islip graduate and class valedictorian, began a long career as a beloved chemistry teacher at Islip High School in 1963. He also worked as a professional pianist.

Ruvola, a 1975 alumnus, retired as a lieutenant colonel after 20 years of active duty service with the New York Air National Guard’s 106th Rescue Wing at Gabreski Airport, where he currently works as a civilian contract helicopter pilot. He also served as commander of the U.S. Air Force’s 101st Expeditionary Rescue Squadron in Baghdad International Airport.

Zummo, a 2001 graduate, was team captain and an All-Leaguer for Islip’s soccer, basketball and lacrosse teams. Playing lacrosse at the New York Institute of Technology, he earned numerous awards including NCAA All-American, NCAA champion, USILA Midfielder of the Year and LIMLF Player of the Year. He later played professional lacrosse for the Long Island Lizards, San Francisco Dragons, Boston Cannons and New York Titans, earning All-Star and Sportsman of the Year accolades.

The 2007-2008 varsity football team had the first undefeated season in Islip history, with a record of 11-0, and won the school’s first Long Island Championship title as well as numerous individual honors. Honored were head coach Jamie Lynch; assistant coaches Nick De Lapi, Lee Dwyer, Brian Gurney and Keith Scheidel; and players Keith Bascone, Casey Biasi, Malcom Brown, Julien Byron, Tyler Casalaro, Joe Catalanotto, Edgar Cesar, Nick Cooley, TJ Cordone, Jeffrey Craig, Anthony DeCaprio, Jordan Delaney, Gavin Donahue, Matthew Egan, Kevin Estrada, Frank Finno, Patrick Grant, Mike Grilli, Kyle Hickey, Cody Hinrichs, Frankie Jimenez, Louis Jocks, Carlos Johnson, Glen Johnson, Chris Keller, Mike Keller, Chris Kmieciak, Matt Kriss, Tom Kriss, John LaMonica, Dan Lyons, Sean Mackey, Kyle Miller, Rob Mirra, Tim Morgan, Daniel Perez, Chris Ponce, Stephen Provenzano, Frankie Provenzano, Tim Rampiaray, Jason Schlittenhardt, Nick Uher, Anthony Villani and Karl Weiss.

Speakers at the event included Stacey Murray, Debby Merrell, Assistant Principal Curt Juengerkes and Lynch.

“Each of our inductees have made sacrifices and great contributions that can be described as exceptional, outstanding and extraordinary,” said Juengerkes. “They are a part of Islip tradition that is draped in a commitment to excellence and a love for our community.”