Recognizing Scholars in Islip

This year the College Board recognized Islip High School senior Montana Prechtl as an Advanced Placement Scholar with Distinction. To receive this honor, a student must have received an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and score 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. Additionally, two students were named AP Scholars with Honor, while 12 students were designated as AP Scholars. AP courses enable students to experience a higher level of curriculum that is comparable to material covered at the college level, and students taking AP courses can earn college credit while still enrolled in high school. Each course is graded on a scale of 1 to 5, and students pass their course with a grade of 3 or more.

In order to be designated as an AP Scholar with Honor, a student must have received a 3.25 or higher on four or more AP exams in the last school year. Shannon McKenna and Madison Schaefer were this year’s designees.

To receive recognition as an AP Scholar, a student must earn a 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. The dozen Islip students named as Scholars this year were Ian Berry, Jacquline Croteau, Katherine Curran, Victoria D’Acunto, Brianna Egger, Madison Grando, Lori Greenblatt, Morgan Greene, Lauren Hyland, Mahnoor Raheel, Bryan Ramirez and Gabriella Rocco.